Thing 14

I downloaded the Viddy app and played with it a bit; it seems to be a good app and videos can be a lot of fun.

That said, I was having a hard time imagining what the videos could be used for, but then I stumbled upon this piece from ALA Direct on the use of Vine.   Originally I downloaded Viddy because I didn’t want to be limited to six seconds, but seeing what they did by stringing a bunch of Viddys together really impressed me.

Now, there’s always the issue of how to apply this sort of thing to library services when you’re completely virtual, but I am working on it.  Six second testimonials from students at Residencies could be pretty cool, for instance.  And we could introduce ourselves to students with them too, and probably embed them into instruction pieces like Captivate tutorials.

All I need now is a little practice taking videos!

Standard

Leave a comment